Eleven Hood Student-Athletes Receive Awards at Spring Honors Convocation

Eleven Hood Student-Athletes Receive Awards at Spring Honors Convocation

FREDERICK, Md. - A total of eleven student-athletes were recognized for their outstanding academic and professional achievements at the annual spring convocation at Hood's Coffman Chapel.

Chris Cook, a senior on the men's basketball team from Mechanicsville, Virginia, and Gretchen Whitesell, a senior women's cross country runner from Myersville, Maryland, were the recipients of the White Blazer Award. This award was established by the athletic department and honors one male and one female student-athlete from the senior class in recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments, significant contributions to the community and excellence in intercollegiate athletics. This award, established in 2013, is grounded in a rich Hood tradition, when a single member of each graduating class from 1921 to 1969 was honored as a White Blazer Girl for outstanding achievements in academics and athletics.

Caitlin Bean, a senior from Kent Island, Maryland and women's cross country member, was awarded The Emily Myers Savis Prize, awarded to a student for excellence in English courses. This prize was established by T. Crawley Davis in memory of his wife Emily Myers Davis '43.

Jared Bileski, a junior on the men’s lacrosse team from Waterloo, Ontario, received the Marie A. Markow Excellence in Music Prize, awarded annually to a Hood student who has excelled both academically and musically. The prize is endowed by Dr. Noel Lester, professor emeritus of music, and Mrs. RoseAnn Markow Lester, instructor in violin and viola and director of the music preparatory program, in honor of RoseAnn’s mother, a woman uncommonly dedicated to the importance of music in a quality education.

Caitlin Fay, a junior member of the women's swimming team and native of Henrico, Virginia won the Johanna Chait Essex '63 Prize in Early Childhood Education. The prize is awarded to a junior who shows the most promise as an early childhood education teacher as evidenced by performance throughout the internship at the Onica Prall Childhood Development Laboratory School. Johanna Chait Essex '53 devoted her professional life to educating nursery school children. The award was established by her family in honor of her 80th birthday.

Samantha Norris, a native of Frederick, Maryland and senior on the women's soccer team was awarded the Class of 1988 Volunteer Behind the Scenes Award. Established by a gift from the Class of 1988, the award is presented to an active and worthy member of the junior or senior class.

Raymond Rivera, a senior from Frederick Maryland and member of the men's cross country team and men's tennis team, was one of four recipients of the Dr. H.P. and P. Laughlin Award. Established in 1991 by Dr. Henry P. Laughlin H’03, an emeritus member of the Hood College Board of Associates, and M. Page Laughlin H’03, the award is presented to a student who has made outstanding contributions to the College.

Michelle Shedd, a freshman member of the women's tennis team from Middletown, Maryland was one of five winners for the Beta Beta Beta Award. The prize is presented to a high-ranking student in biology 100-200 level courses upon the recommendation of the biology department.

Heather Silveira, a senior from Baltimore, Maryland and member of the women's cross country and track team was one of four recipients of the Pi Mu Epsilon Book Prize. This award is given to a member of the Pi Mu Epsilon national honorary mathematics society.

Margarita Swissler, a senior women's track and field member from Madison, Wisconsin was awarded the E. Louise Leonard Prize. This award is given to a senior whose major subject is French and who has done excellent work  in the language and literature of France. Professor Emerita E. Louise Leonard taught French and Italian at Hood from 1926 to 1970. The prize was established and endowed in 1969 by former students of Leonard for whom she was an inspiration.

Brittany Whitham, a junior from Fort Collins, Colorado and member of the women's swimming team, was one of the three winners of the Martha Briney Honor Scholarship. Established in honor of late Professor Martha Briney, it is awarded to upperclassmen who excel in English literature courses.